Eastern Ontario Outaouais Regional Council (EOORC)

Pastoral Relations Commission

A meeting of the Pastoral Relations (PR) Commission was held via Zoom Conference call on Tuesday, January 16, 2024 at 1:00 p.m.

PRESENT:

Jim Allen, Ina Bromley, Wayne Harris (Chair), Sharon MacDonald, Erin McIntyre, Karen McLean (Scribe), Micheline Montreuil, Blair Paterson, Whit Strong, Linda Suddaby (10) **REGRETS:** Patsy Henry, Charlotte Hoy (2)

CALL TO ORDER, OPENING PRAYER:

Chair, Wayne Harris, called the meeting to order at 1:17 p.m. After a quick check-in with members, Linda Suddaby led us in an opening prayer.

ADDITIONS/CORRECTIONS TO THE AGENDA:

Name a Liaison to Lansdowne P.C.

INTERIM MOTIONS: None

ACCEPTANCE OF MINUTES:

MOTION 2024-01 (B. Paterson/E. McIntyre) "that the minutes of November 28, 2023 be accepted as circulated." **CARRIED**

CORRESPONDENCE: None

MEDICAL LEAVE:

Restorative Care: Rev. Eric Pagé (OM) Williamstown P.C.

LTD: Rev. Kathleen Petrie (OM) Augusta P.C.

SABBATICALS/COVERAGE: None

ACKNOWLEDGED SABBATICALS:

David Sherwin – Zion-Memorial P.C. (Carleton Place) – March 1 to May 31, 2024

Tiina Côté – Pembroke: Calvin P.C. – May 1 – September 2, 2024 PCS – Margie Patterson

Elaine Beattie – Glen Cairn P.C. – June 1 to August 31, 2024

Erin McIntyre - Cornwall: Knox-St. Paul's P.C. - June 1 to September 3, 2024

Lorrie Lowes – Bells Corners P.C. – July 1 to September 30, 2024

SUPERVISED MINISTRY EDUCATION SITE: None

Parkdale P.C. (Ottawa)

An upcoming appointment at Parkdale P.C. (Ottawa) with Huda Kandalaft beginning March 1, 2024 (converting a CDM to a SME appointment) was tabled at the November meeting until further information was forthcoming from the Office of Vocations.

MOTION 2024-02 (S. MacDonald/J. Allen) "that the EOORC PR Commission recommends the suitability of the Parkdale Pastoral Charge to be a Supervised Ministry Education site (SME)."

CARRIED

CHANGE IN RELATIONS/SHARED MINISTRY AGREEMENTS

MOTION 2024-03 (S. MacDonald/M. Montreuil) "that the EOORC PR Commission takes note of the Shared Ministry Agreement between Lanark-Balderson and Central Lanark Pastoral Charges effective February 1, 2024."

CARRIED

MOTION 2024-04 (B. Paterson/L. Suddaby) "that the EOORC PR Commission approves the request of the Rev. Andrew Jensen (OM) for a change in pastoral relations effective July 31, 2024."

CALLS/(RE)-APPOINTMENTS

Grace-St. Andrew's P.C. (Arnprior)

For Information:

The congregational meeting took place on December 10, 2023. Wayne received verbal confirmation of the vote in favour of calling the Rev. Ronnie Magno and Whit has since received the paperwork confirming the vote.

Rothwell P.C. (Ottawa)

MOTION 2024-05 (E. McIntyre/S. MacDonald) "that the EOORC PR Commission approves the re-appointment of the Rev. Jessica Hetherington (OM) to the Rothwell Pastoral Charge as Congregational Minister, 20 hours per week effective January 1 - 31, 2024." **CARRIED**

Carleton Memorial P.C. (Ottawa)

MOTION 2024-06 (M. Montreuil/E. McIntyre) "that the EOORC PR Commission approves the re-appointment of the Rev. Matt Gallinger (OM) to the Carleton Memorial Pastoral Charge as Congregational Minister, 30 hours per week effective January 1, 2024 – December 31, 2024."

CARRIED

Pastoral Charge Supervisors:

PCSs needed for St. Andrew's (Westmeath); Kemptville: St. John's; Lower Gatineau Valley; Templeton

Pastoral Charges without called/appointed Ministry Personnel:

(Pastoral Charge Supervisor in place as noted)

Addison – Lynne Gardiner

Admaston – Paul McLenaghan

Ashton-Munster – Jim Allen

Augusta – Linda Suddaby (while the minister is on LTD)

Aylmer-Eardley – Jim Allen (Eardley open for only a couple of services per year.)

Aylwin – Natalie Matkovsky

Bethel-St. Andrew's – Jan Lougheed

Central Lanark – Wayne Harris

Charge pastorale Namur – Jim Kenney

Chinese (Ottawa) – Barbara Reynolds (after 10 years, only on call)

Christ Church United (Chesterville) – Christine Lowson

Clyde Forks-Tatlock – Carla Van Delen

Delta-Toledo – Charlotte Hoy

Denbigh, Matawatchan, Schutt – Jon Williams

Elgin-Portland – JoAnne Fletcher

Genesis Co-operative – Jim Allen

Glasgow-Castleford – James Murray

Glengarry East – John Noordhoff

Golden Lake – Jon Williams

Greenwood – Ina Bromley

Harrowsmith-Verona – Sharon MacDonald

Kemptville: St. John's – After passing of the minister

Kenmore (selling building – NOT disbanding) - Ed Gratton

Knox Edwards – (disbanding April 30, 2024) - Ed Gratton

Lanark-Balderson - Sharon MacDonald

Lansdowne – Donald Wachenschwanz

Lower Gatineau -

Lyn: Christ Church – Shelley Roberts

Mallorytown – Charlotte Hoy

Melville-Eganville – Ina Bromley

Metcalfe - Ed Gratton

Osgoode-Kars – Ed Gratton

Pembroke: Mt. Zion – Kevin Moratz

Pembroke: Zion Evangelical – Zacharia Mandara (meetings);

Ingrid Condie-Bennett (Pastoral Care)

Perth Road – Heather McLurg Murphy

Pittston – Myra Garvin

Quyon – Cathy Stewart

Rideau - Sharon MacDonald

Rockland - Jim Kenney

Russell - Ed Gratton

Southminster – Brian Copeland

St. Andrew's (Westmeath) -

St. John's (Brockville) – Linda Suddaby

Templeton -

Vernon – Vicki Simzer

Williamstown – Lois Gaudet

LIAISONS

Liaisons are still needed for Aylwin; Merivale-Fallowfield; Morrisburg: Lakeshore Drive; South Mountain-Hallville; St. Andrew's (Westmeath); Kemptville: St. John's

Lansdowne P.C.

MOTION 2024-07 (I. Bromley/L. Suddaby) "That the EOORC PR Commission names Phyllis Dietrich as Liaison to the Lansdowne Pastoral Charge." CARRIED

January 16, 2024 Conference Call (Zoom)

Pastoral Charges in search mode:

(Liaisons in place as noted)

Ashton-Munster – Jim Allen

Aylwin –

Bethel-St. Andrew's – Beth Sweetnam

Cardinal – Myra Garvin

Charge pastorale Namur – Jim Kenney

Chinese (Ottawa) – Charles Barrett

Denbigh, Matawatchan, Schutt – Jon Williams/Ina Bromley

First United (Ottawa) – Janet Nield

Genesis Co-operative – Jim Allen

Glasgow-Castleford – James Murray

Harrowsmith-Verona – Sharon MacDonald

Kemptville: St. John's – After the passing of the minister

Lansdowne – Phyllis Dietrich

Melville-Eganville – Ina Bromley

Merivale-Fallowfield -

Metcalfe - Ed Gratton

Morrisburg: Lakeshore Dr. -

Osgoode-Kars – Ed Gratton

Perth Road – Heather McLurg Murphy

Quyon – Cathy Stewart

Rockland – Jim Kenney

Rothwell – Beth Sweetnam

Russell - Ed Gratton

Smiths Falls: Trinity – Wayne Harris

South Mountain-Hallville -

St. Andrew's (Westmeath) -

Pastoral Charges not searching:

Addison Eardley Centenary
Clyde Forks-Tatlock Delta-Toledo Elgin-Portland

Glasgow-Castleford Greenwood Lower Gatineau Valley

Lyn: ChristMallorytownPittstonRideauSt. John's (Brockville)Templeton

Vernon

FOLLOW-UPS FROM LIAISONS AND PCSs

Lanark-Balderson/Central Lanark

Reps from Lanark-Balderson and Central Lanark Pastoral Charges have been in touch with the Rev. Dan Hansen. Wayne has sent a copy of the Covenanting service to all involved.

OTHER BUSINESS:

1) FOR INFORMATION ONLY

DLMs

The original remit was defeated at the General Council level. There is now the possibility of DLMs being allowed to submit Testamurs and be Ordained/Commissioned. The training of ministry personnel is very different now from what it used to be. DLMs will have to meet a certain educational requirement but there is still uncertainty as to what that bar will be.

2) Deaths

- Rev. David Spivey December 1, 2023
- Rev. Lynda Harrison December 22, 2023

Whit has informed the treasurer of these passings and will notify the families that donations will be made to the M&S Fund in their memories.

LAST WORD: None

Next meeting – **Tuesday, February 20, 2024** 1:00-3:00 p.m. via Zoom.

Join Zoom Meeting

https://united-church.zoom.us/j/85233506275

Meeting ID: 852 3350 6275 855 703 8985 Canada Toll-free

<u>CLOSING:</u> Blair led us in a closing prayer. The business listed on the agenda being completed, Wayne declared the meeting closed at 2:01 p.m.